Executive Committee

Executive Committee


M. Edward Sellers is Chairman of BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina and the Companion group of companies. The Corporation’s businesses include health insurance, administrative services contracting, Medicare intermediary functions, Department of Defense TRICARE intermediary functions, a life insurance company, a property and casualty insurance company, computer technology businesses, and an HMO.

Mr. Sellers joined BlueCross as President and Chief Operating Officer in September 1987. He was elected to the board of directors in 1989, became Chief Executive Officer in 1992, and was named Chairman in 2001. Today, BlueCross and BlueShield of South Carolina has over $2.9 billion in annual revenue and 13,000 employees located in sixteen states.

In prior assignments, Mr. Sellers worked for Westinghouse Electric Corporation (Pittsburgh), the Boston Consulting Group (Boston), and the BlueCross and BlueShield Association (Chicago).

A native of Kentucky, Mr. Sellers is a graduate of Vanderbilt University with a B.A. in Physics, and he has an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School.





Ed Sellers, Chairman
Chairman, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

Joel A. Smith, III, Treasurer
Dean Emeritus, Moore School of Business,
University of South Carolina

Paula Harper Bethea
Former Executive Director, SC Education Lottery

Joe Blanchard
President & CEO, Blanchard Machinery Company

Ted Creech
Director of External Affairs, AT&T

Don Herriott
Chair of Board of Directors, South Carolina Research Authority (SCRA)






S. Hunter Howard, Jr.
Upstate Managing Partner, Scott and Company

Pamela Lackey
President, AT&T South Carolina

John Lumpkin, Jr.
Senior executive adviser, Cogdell Spencer ERDMAN;
former CEO, Edens

George Wolfe
Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP 

M. William “Bill” Youngblood
Shareholder, McNair Law Firm

Sue-Ann “Susie” Shannon, Ex Officio Member
President & CEO, SC Council on Competitiveness